Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday for Election Day. (Photo courtesy Cape May County Board of Elections)

By Donald Wittkowski

New Jersey voters go to the polls Tuesday to elect a new governor as well as key state, county and local representatives.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Gov. Chris Christie, who has served the last eight years, is restricted from seeking a third term.

In the race to succeed Gov. Christie, Lt. Gov. Kim Guadagno, a Republican, is facing Democrat Phil Murphy, a former Wall Street executive.

Seats in the Statehouse are also up for grabs. In the First Legislative District, Sen. Jeff Van Drew and Assemblymen Bob Andrzejczak and R. Bruce Land, all Democrats, are seeking new terms.

Running against Van Drew is Republican Mary Gruccio, the Superintendent of Schools in Vineland and a former Cumberland County freeholder. The Republican slate for Assembly includes Cumberland County Freeholder Jim Sauro and Downe Township Mayor Robert Campbell.

The First Legislative District encompasses all of Cape May County, most of Cumberland County and a small part of Atlantic County.

At the county level, incumbent Cape May County Freeholders Will Morey and Jeffrey Pierson, both Republicans, will be opposed by Democrats Danielle Davies and Gregory Wall, both political newcomers.

In the race for Cape May County Sheriff, Republican Under-Sheriff  Robert Nolan will face Democrat Richard Harron. Cape May County Sheriff Gary Schaffer is retiring, opening up the race for a new sheriff.

Republican Dean Marcolongo will run unopposed for Cape May County surrogate. Marcolongo will replace Susan Sheppard, who resigned as surrogate this year to become a state Superior Court judge.

At the local level, Ocean City and Sea Isle City are holding elections for Board of Education members.

In Ocean City, school board incumbents Joseph Clark, Cecilia Gallelli-Keyes and Michael James are running unopposed.

Sea Isle school board incumbents Dan Tumolo and Kerry Mullane will also face no opposition.

In Atlantic County, two City Council seats in Somers Point will be contested. Somers Point will also hold an election for three spots on the Board of Education.

First Ward Councilman Kirk Gerety, a Republican, is being challenged by Democrat Genevieve DeVito. In the Second Ward, incumbent Councilman James Toto, a Republican, will square off against Democrat John DiMaria, a former Somers Point mayor and councilman.

Four candidates are seeking three seats on the Board of Education. They include incumbents John Conover and Michael Sweeder. Newcomers Joshua Palombo and Anthony Zappile are also running.