Sheriff Bob Nolan was honored by the RWCMC as the Republican of the year.

La Fontana Coast in Sea Isle City was the setting Wednesday night as the Republican Women of Cape May County bestowed its Republican of the Year award to Sheriff Bob Nolan of Lower Township.

A packed house looked on for the event.

“It was a very successful evening, well-attended, many dignitaries on hand and a well-deserved honor for Sheriff Nolan,” said RWCMC President Melissa Roy.

The group “supports the Republican philosophy and initiatives, and the advancement of women in the political process,” Roy said. “We work closely with the Cape GOP to support good government.”

Sheriff Bob Nolan is pictured with the Desiderio Family. He was their pick for this years award.

Nolan, a former Lower Township elected official and former Deputy Sheriff under Gary Schaeffer, was lauded for his years of service and dedication to the County.

“I have known Bobby for quite a few years, long before he was elected Sheriff,” said Roy. “He stands for positive values and he is a great family man, very family oriented and a good all-around guy.”

She said these values are things Nolan brings to the job every day, much to the benefit of all residents of Cape May County.

The award, given in honor Gerard Desiderio, late brother of Sea Isle Mayor and Cape May County Freeholder Lenny Desiderio, included a presentation by the Club and also a plaque from the Board of Freeholders personally presented by Freeholder Director Gerald Thornton. Freeholder Jeff Pierson led the group in a toast to their honoree.

Cape May County GOP Leader Marcus Karavan was presented a check for $10,000 by the Republican Women of Cape May County

In addition to Nolan’s honors, a highlight of the evening was the presentation of a $10,000 check to the Cape GOP Committee, which was gratefully accepted by GOP Chair Marcus Karavan.

Also on hand were Freeholder Marie Hayes, Republican State Representative Linda Palugie, Warden Don Lombardo of the County Correctional Facility, as well as numerous committee and council members and other elected officials from county municipalities.

Roy thanked the members of the organization for helping plan and execute the event, especially Treasurer Bridget O’Brien and Executive Committee member, Past President, and Councilwoman Mary Tighe.

“They are my right hand, and sometimes my left hand as well,” Roy said of the duo.

From left, Cape May County Freeholders Jeff Pierson, Len Desiderio, Gerald Thornton, Sheriff Bob Nolan and Freeholder Marie Hayes at Nolan’s Republican of the Year award presentation.

In other business, the Club announced there will be a campaign fundraiser for Desiderio’s quest for re-election to the Freeholder Board on October 13th at Kix McNutley’s in Sea Isle City; and a Lower Township Republican Organization fundraiser on October 14 at the Red Brick ale House in Lower. Cost of each event is $25.

The group’s next meeting will take place October 24 at a location to be announced, Roy said.

Sheriff Nolan is congratulated by former Assemblyman Sam Fiocchi and Cape GOP Leader Marcus Karavan.